Skip To Content

Annual Contribution to the Industry Award

The Annual Contribution to the Industry Award aims to recognize several individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty during the prior year and demonstrated outstanding overall contribution to the Fund Finance industry, their firms and their clients, with an emphasis on professional contributions focused on excellence in client service, product and service innovations, diversity and inclusion, career development, training and mentoring, networking and community service.

Selection Criteria

The Award recipient will be selected based on outstanding contribution to the FFA and the Fund Finance industry, over the past twelve months.

2024 Annual Contribution to the Industry Nomination Form


2024 Recipients

Mark Dempsey

Mayer Brown

Mark Dempsey is a recipient of the Fund Finance Association's Annual Contribution to the Industry Award. Mark serves as a partner at Mayer Brown in the Banking & Finance and Fund Finance practices. Since launching his career in Fund Finance in 2005, Mark has been a trailblazer in developing fund finance products and driving their expansion globally. Collaborating with industry stakeholders on both legal and business fronts, Mark has tackled complex challenges, contributing to the rapid growth of fund finance offerings. As an active member of the Fund Finance Association, he hosts events and continuing legal educational programs, and played a pivotal role in organizing the inaugural Symposium at Mayer Brown's NYC office, laying the foundation for our current Global Symposium. Mark's commitment to advancing the industry and fostering collaboration underscores his leadership and dedication in the field of fund finance. Congratulations Mark on the well-deserved award!

Jessica Lai


Jessica is a recipient of the Fund Finance Association’s Annual Contribution to the Industry Award, a testament to her exceptional contributions and leadership in the fund finance sector. As a Vice President at Blackstone, she drives the industry forward with her innovative thinking and collaborative mindset. With charisma, deep industry knowledge, and a keen business sense, she navigates complex negotiations and builds strong relationships effortlessly. Her unique ability to blend creativity in problem-solving with commercial acuity has been instrumental in advancing Blackstone's objectives and shaping the future of fund finance markets. Active within the Fund Finance Association as a member of the EMEA committee, Jessica demonstrates a consistent commitment to the industry's growth and development. Congratulations to Jessica for this well-deserved recognition!

Gavin Rees


Gavin is a recipient of the Fund Finance Association's Annual Contribution to the Industry Award. With a long tenure within the industry, renowned for his expertise in fund finance supporting GPs and LPs. Gavin played a key role integrating the new HSBC Innovation Banking brand following the acquisition of SVB UK, leading his team through change while prioritizing client needs. His extensive industry relationships and strategic insights have fortified HSBC Innovation Banking UK’s position as the go-to financial partner for fund financing, ensuring continued excellence in service and fostering growth. Congratulations to Gavin on well-deserved recognition after a year of hard work!

Past Recipients

Henry, Mike (U.S. Bank)
Mike Henry
Mastrogiannis, Micaela (KKR)
Micaela Mastrogiannis
Misson, Wesley (Cadwalader)
Wesley Misson
Rabinowitz, Eddie (Blackstone Strategic Partners)
Edward Rabinowitz
Levitt, Jennifer (Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP)
Jennifer Levitt
Du, Vicky (Standard Chartered Bank)
Vicky Du
Rocco, Joseph (Blackstone)
Joe Rocco
Semidey, Arquelio (Arkie)
Arquelio (Arkie) Semidey
Mbayi, Michael (Wildgen)
Michael Mbayi